Snoop Dogg, Sade, and others inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame


The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced its class of 2023. Sade Adu, the singer and songwriter behind quiet storm group Sade, is among the inductees, as are Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, new jack swing mastermind Teddy Riley, the Michael Jackson and Alanis Morissette collaborator Glen Ballard, ELO’s Jeff Lynne, and the sometime Taylor Swift co-writer Liz Rose. The ceremony takes place on June 15.

Nile Rodgers, chairman of the Songwriters Hall of Fame, said in a press release, “The music industry does not exist without songwriters delivering great songs first. Without them there is no recorded music, no concert business, no merch… nothing, it all starts with the song and the songwriter. We are therefore very proud that we are continually recognizing some of the culturally most important songwriters of all time and that the 2023 slate represents not just iconic songs but also diversity and unity across genres, ethnicity and gender, songwriters who have enriched our lives and, in their time, literally transformed music and the lives of billions of listeners all over the world.”

For more, check out this article from Pitchfork.

Photo courtesy of Stephen J. Cohen/Getty Images.

Related Posts